Skip to content

On the road again

August 23, 2011

Tomorrow I’m visiting my permanent site. During my last placement interview, I was asked if I would mind being stationed away from other volunteers. I was kind of astonished by the question, because they typically ask that earlier in the process, and also because Venda is a small region and if six of us are going there, we can’t be too far apart. “Do you think I will be far from other volunteers?” I asked. “Yes” was the answer. My village is on the southwest fringe of the cluster, right on the border of the Vhembe and Mopani and Capricorn districts. According to satellite photos which may or may not be accurate, it’s a small, sun-bleached place surrounded by lush forests. I don’t know exactly what I’ll do there but it does seem to be the site which best matches my interests and abilities. As with everything else, I’ll find out for sure when I get there, if then.

It’s about a 7-hour ride from here to there, and once I’m done there, I’m expected to find my own way back. Not that I don’t think I can do it, but it sounds a little sketchy. The information on the site says that there’s one bus that leaves at about 5 or 6 in the morning, and then find rides back the Northwest Province. I can’t help but think someone is bound to get lost. Good thing I bought a cheap phone for 69 rand.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

